Independent Rear Suspension, OEM, aftermarket, stock configuration or heavily modified, all makes and models, everyone is welcome here!!!

You are not logged in. Would you like to login?

6/22/2012 6:02 am  #1

Newbie with JAG IRS waiting for installation

Hello all. I am a newbie to this forum and as well to Hot Rod building. However I have many years and completed several British sports cars from ground up as well as minor restos.  I am tired of them so a while back bought a 30 Model A project that someone had started.  He did a few nice things but many, many mistakes made which I will attempt to repair and not duplicate. One of the goofs in my opinion is putting a GM straight axle with 4 links and coil overs up into the body of the shell.  This car is a 2 door sedan and I want the back seat and I had two big ugly improperly installed coil over shocks and mounting frame there,  hence the Jag rear end.  Being involved in Brit cars in Orlando area I easily found a complete XJ6 diff with 288 gears in the cage.  Now my next step is to educate myself on the proper way to install this diff in rod frame which is powered by a Vette 5.7 .

I would love to have suggestions on a good documented installation, perhaps a "how not to book"...wait I better look for a "how to" book as I probably already know a lot ofways how not to.

BTW "Frankenford"  ModelA, mustang II front end, Corvette engine, GM Tranny, Jag rear end.  All I need is electrodes installed in the neck.[b]
[/b]

6/22/2012 7:28 am  #2

Re: Newbie with JAG IRS waiting for installation

Nice handle, welcome to forum.  Hopefully you have pics of the mistakes and can do a before and after.
Good luck!

6/22/2012 7:29 am  #3

Have you checked out "The Jaguar IRS picture thread"?  The link is at the top of the forum section list.