Independent Rear Suspension, OEM, aftermarket, stock configuration or heavily modified, all makes and models, everyone is welcome here!!!

You are not logged in. Would you like to login?

6/21/2012 5:07 am  #1

Jaguar/C-4 Hybrid?

Think this through with me...

What if one were to utilize a Jaguar center section with a C-4 Corvette upright and trailing arms? The lower control arm (dogbone) would need to be replaced with two arms (to keep the dual coil overs) with either heim joints or bushings that would allow some flex (so as not to fight the trailing arms). This would also allow me to run outboard, C-4 through C-6 brakes (I have C-6 Z06 front and rear). It would also allow for adjustable toe, and, depending on manipulation of the trailing arms, adjustable anti-squat.

I's model it if I could, but.... Hey, I'm a writer, not a CAD designer! LOL

Shiny Side Up!
Bill

Check out my latest project, "In the Company of Devils" at www.WilliamKElliott.com

6/21/2012 5:47 am  #2

Re: Jaguar/C-4 Hybrid?

Bill - I ask what is special about the Jag center section?  Do yu have one alreaddy?  It  certainly has a following here and lots of support - but if going to an outboard C6 Brakes etc - maybe just a complete C5/C6 setup is in order.  I was doing some modeling  (sometime writer - mostly engineer) and concluded for me I'd just build my own subframe setup as I had too much invested in the Diff, Halfshafts, Spindles, Brakes, etc already.

The C5/6 subframe could be readily adapted to maybe what you are looking for.   If you have the  C6 Zo6 - why not use it?!
I'm away from home so would be a week plus before I could send any of my diagrams, etc.

Cheers - Jim

UNDERCONSTRUCTION! Highly Modified C3 Corvette
         Dual Wishbone IRS w Subframe + Custom Uprights

6/21/2012 6:17 am  #3

phantomjock wrote: