Independent Rear Suspension, OEM, aftermarket, stock configuration or heavily modified, all makes and models, everyone is welcome here!!!

You are not logged in. Would you like to login?

10/21/2011 8:01 pm  #1

I hate the fact that it takes me at least three welds before I am a go

on May 18, 2010, 9:23 pm Daze wrote:

today I welded up the joints on the side mounts. In order to install fish plate I had to grind the side welds smooth, and the first couple welds I had done had pores in them, so I had to grind out the weld and redo it. After the first couple welds the rest were pore free. I guess I am a good welder only because I know when to redo something

If it isn't broken..... modify it anyway!!!!

10/21/2011 8:03 pm  #2

Re: I hate the fact that it takes me at least three welds before I am a go

on May 19, 2010, 6:10 pm, cecil671 wrote:

welding"Practice makes perfect" or at least in my case practice,grind,repeat,repeat etc.

10/21/2011 8:04 pm  #3

on May 19, 2010, 8:43 pm, Daze wrote:

I have been "practicing" for at least 8 years There was a time when all my welds were bad, then a time where it took me about an hour to get in to the grove. Now a days if it is something I have done a lot I know the welds are good the first time, but on materials I have not worked with as much like... I don't know... 1/8" wall rectangular tubing it takes a couple of welds to get in to the grove.  I am just glad I am to that point and not still needing to weld for an hour before the welds are good. I am also glad that I know the difference between a good weld and a bad weld AND have an angle grinder

10/21/2011 8:05 pm  #4

on August 8, 2010, 10:44 pm, tyrellracing wrote: